121 Responses to “Passport Max Radar Detector Review”

Comments

Read below or add a comment...

  1. Hnoz

    You can get a pre order from escortradar.com. Plus $120 trade in credit on a V1!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 19 positive, 1 negative
    • Radar Roys Rating
      Sensitivity
      Filtering
      Price
      GPS Capabilities
      Photo Radar Effectiveness Not Rated

      But you may want to wait till Monday during the official launch as they may sweeten the deal.. We will have a replay of the event on our site

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      Feedback: 17 positive, 3 negative
  2. Radar Roys Rating
    Sensitivity
    Filtering
    Price
    GPS Capabilities
    Photo Radar Effectiveness

    I am so excited about this RD. Thanks for taking the time to review this RD which seems to be revolutionary

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 7 positive, 1 negative
  3. Chris Mangold

    As I understand it, any detector that relies on GPS technology must ‘see the sky’ for optimum performance.
    Where do you recommend mounting the Max, down low next to or sitting on the dash, in the middle of the windshield, clipped under the visor, or under the rear view mirror using a mirror mount device?

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 3 positive
    • All would be good but just as you said, it must see the sky
      Personally as I have laser jammers I mount mine low

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      Feedback: 7 positive
      • Stephen Bramell

        This has always been an area of confusion for me. I have heard both sides of this story. Mount high so it can see over hills, but then again mount low because that’s the height the radar will be shooting at you. So I guess since you mount your’s low, that kinda answers that mystery of the universe.

        Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

        Feedback: 8 positive
      • Gene O'Brien
        Radar Roys Rating
        Sensitivity Not Rated Filtering Not Rated
        Price Not Rated GPS Capabilities Not Rated Photo Radar Effectiveness Not Rated

        Roy – it should be noted that there is a Florida statute that prohibits any device other than a Sun Pass (for tolls) and/or a GPS to be attached to a windshield. It seems that most of the police aren’t aware of this statute or they don’t enforce it but a BMW was recently cited for having a RD attached to the windshield; the fine was $148. I’m not aware if other states have this law but its something to consider when determining where to mount a detector. – Gene

        Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

        Feedback: 5 positive
  4. Brian Peterson

    Winners announced? I didn’t hear them except for the V1 guy.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 3 positive
  5. mr Stephane Paiement

    3 questions:

    1. Living in one of the three Canadian provinces radar detectors’ paradise (Alberta), I would like to know in the Escort Max can be programmed to display the speed in km/h vs mph.
    2. Does it have the canadian locations for red light (speedon green) cameras’ locations (Alberta and British Colombia use them a lot). And
    3. I own an STI and recently I began getting false laser alerts. I check my surroundings and there is no lidars near by. Being a former lidar op and currently a photo radar op, I thought that the alert could be triggered by a near by surveyor’s laser or a laser pointer (did not work with a red beam). Any thoughts?

    Continue the good work.

    Stephane Paiement

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 2 positive, 1 negative
    • 1: I don’t know, will have to get back with you
      2: Yes
      3: Bright sun can cause false laser alerts, such as a reflection

      Thanks and I’ll find out for you

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      Feedback: 4 positive
      • stephane paiement

        Thanks for your answer in 3. These days it is cloudy in AB, and there is no false lidar alerts.

        Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

        Feedback: 2 positive
  6. attila

    Since X ban is considered dead and gone…seems to me a seriously nasty surprise would be to bring back the ancient instant on X band guns? I know they are still used in parts of Oregon….

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 4 positive
    • X band is not dead and gone. NJ still has contracts for X band.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      Feedback: 3 positive
    • Steven

      Also certain small towns in Texas such as Port Aransas and points in between, still have the County sherriffs using XBand. I ignored an XBand signal on a major interstate going from Port Aransas to Corpus Christi, and was pulled over by a Sherrif using this old Band.

      Very Wise of these LE to use XBand on the open road.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  7. Mark

    Although I can appreciate that this unit has an improved ability to filter out unwanted signals, this is something that has been proclaimed by radar detectors for many, many years. This just appears to be hyped with new technology terms and marketing jargon (“HD”). For the sake of argument, let’s say the technology used makes it better at filtering than others… at the moment.

    In terms of the reported alert speed, I just gotta say, “you’re kidding, right?” Radar detectors are already blindingly fast. My foot isn’t going to move to the brake any faster with a 10 millisecond speed increase (or whatever the difference may be). This just seems like crazy marketing hype.

    Tell me I’m wrong.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 2 positive, 2 negative
    • I disagree with your statement “”Blindingly Fast”. The Ka band segment is huge and it can take a second or so to scan and then filter out any false alerts. A second may not mean much but when you’re traveling over the speed limit it can mean getting a ticket or not getting a ticket.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      Feedback: 6 positive
      • Mark

        How? Radar detection is primarily about advanced warning (from the cop scanning other vehicles further ahead). If you’re alone on an empty road and he specifically targets you with pop, you’re toast – no matter how fast the detector notifies you. Because once the cop gets the initial reading, that’s all he needs to see.

        But if you still feel notification time is critical (although I don’t know why you would), why haven’t you posted a real world side-by-side comparison?

        Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

        Feedback: 3 positive, 1 negative
        • Well first off being there are only a few states that even have a contact with MPH and Nevada is the only state I know that has been buying POP. So your chances of getting hit with POP is very low. However you have Instant On, and the chances are much greater. That is why it’s important to have a detector that can detect at a long range. As far as testing side by side, if you could come up with a way to measure 100 MS (faster then a blink of an eye) I would do such a comparison. I have not been able to figure a way to do it.

          Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

          Feedback: 5 positive, 1 negative
          • Mark

            That’s my point.

            So, with POP or Instant On, you’re toast. And if the difference is between a second and a blink of an eye, well… big deal.

            And you’ve been telling us for years now about how radar detectors can detect sooner than an active radar can get a reading. So – other than perhaps filtering better than the past radar detectors that were reported also great at filtering, this detector sounds like it is really just the next model to have improved filtering(a side-by-side test would be good for that as well).

            My GPS shows the local speed limits and the speed I’m traveling (as does my speedometer), so focusing on yet another distraction in the car to get that information is not practical. Unless it’s built into a GPS, the detector has a specific purpose and it should be ignored until an alert.

            With that, I don’t see the point of this abundant excitement for this marginally improved product. Give me a stealth detector built into a GPS with traffic and THEN I’ll get REALLY excited.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

            Feedback: 8 positive, 6 negative
        • attila

          even with best detectors and “front door” best cops have issue way less warning then in the past. As I wrote, I have seen police units from far aeway and cars passing in front of them , ye No warning til I got with in visual range before alert with best beltronics on board. Ball is in Their court now from what I have seen past couple years.

          Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

          Feedback: 1 positive, 3 negative
        • Larry W Hill

          I’ve been hit before with instant-on and I reacted by just letting off the accelerator. I was the only car on the road. Subsequent pulses confirmed that they were monitoring my speed and the decision to ‘let me go’ may have been based on my velocity reduction. Hitting the brakes only confirms that you have a detector or you saw them and realized you were speeding. Friend of mine was told that by police that pulled him over. Anyway, point is, I will take the extra second because that might be just enough to matter. Milliseconds…now that’s not really worth anything.

          Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

          Feedback: 1 positive, 1 negative
  8. Joe

    Hi Radar Roy,

    Did Escort mention any plans to release a non-GPS version of this device that would be Stealth? I have a Redline now and enjoy the range and stealth and pick up the GPS functionality through Escort Live. If the Escort Max were Stealth – it would be a non-brainer decision to make the move upward.

    Thank you for all your help and guidance in my purchasing decisions regarding radar detectors!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 4 positive, 1 negative
    • No, they will not be making a stealth version of this unit as it is not built on the M3 platform

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      Feedback: 5 positive, 1 negative
  9. Kris
    Radar Roys Rating
    Sensitivity Not Rated Filtering Not Rated
    Price Not Rated GPS Capabilities Not Rated Photo Radar Effectiveness Not Rated

    Went to purchase from Escort.com and they won’t ship to Canada… ? Now what ?

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 3 positive, 1 negative
  10. attila

    Hell ya Nevada has something going on that is bad juju..I have seen situations with a “front door” and come on the cop and bang! Line of site hit the breaks, skate, but no warning… best Beltronics on board. No idea if this was POP or what, but scary stuff.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 2 positive, 1 negative
  11. Ryan

    When is the expected release date?

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  12. izimm

    I have read the reviews and sat in on the Webinar. By all accounts this truly sounds like the Radar Detector to try and beat in the future. It is hands down the winner is almost every category…..ALMOST :(
    Unfortunately, it is not RDD immune…..that is a show stopper for me, but I am more disappointed that my question during the webinar regarding if adding RDD capability was on their roadmap was not answered.

    For now, my STi will have to suffice.

    Happy driving…..

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 1 positive, 1 negative
  13. Andrew

    no rear radar? ugh i have a V1 in my truck and 9500IX in my car for 2 years now. I still Miss the arrows in the car. i find myself looking around to the LEO.

    on the highway its the worst. ughh come on escort.

    the crap on V1’s site about gps is bogus and he don’t understand how it works, or if he does he is trying to pull one over on everyone that has not used one.

    come on excort need a good one here!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 1 positive, 1 negative
  14. Roland

    Roy, you mentioned the Max has a KA scan speed of 100 milliseconds(or there abouts). What is the current speed on most other Escort models including Band Segmentation models?

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 2 positive
    • My best guess would be that it would take as much as a second if not longer to scan the entire Ka band and then a bit longer to filter out falses. The engineers at Escort say that the max would do all that in 100 MS

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      Feedback: 2 positive
      • I LIKE THE FACT THAT HE RED LINE IS RDD IMMUNE. WILL TJIS HAPPEN IN THE NEAR FUTURE. I DRIVE IN VIR. ALOT.

        Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

        Feedback: 2 positive
  15. freddie

    radar roy, I have passport 9500ix currently, I know redline is steath and max is not, but I was wondering the range of the max compared to redline. I know redline detects up to 13 miles. Have you heard if escort is coming out with new redline?

    I am thinking of upgrading to redline because of the stealth technology plus I will be using escort live too.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 4 positive
    • The Max has better range then the Redline and as Escort only comes out with a new unit every couple years, don’t expect anything new for awhile

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      Feedback: 4 positive, 1 negative
      • freddie

        radar roy, thanks for comment , I still kinda in the a bind if i should get max or redline. i do hwy,city and there both equal. Nm ur allow have detectors but you cant use them. I was leaning towards the redline….what do you think?

        Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

        Feedback: 2 positive
        • Radar Detectors are legal in NM so not sure where you came up with the cannot use them?
          As far as the Redline, you’re not going to need the stealth of the Redline unless you’re driving a commercial vehicle

          Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

          Feedback: 3 positive
      • jason
        Radar Roys Rating
        Sensitivity
        Filtering
        Price
        GPS Capabilities
        Photo Radar Effectiveness

        this is a lie..the redline clearly has more range than the max…EVERY test has shown this…just google this people before asking someone who gets paid to say these things

        Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

        • Jason, I appreciate people commenting on my review site in a constructive manner. You don’t need to agree with my reviews but don’t call me a lier. First off SML did a similar test that I did in Texas last June where the Max clearly had more range then the Max. Second, who the hell is paying me to say this? I would like to get my check!

          Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  16. Ted Elkins

    Roy, I just placed order for the MAX delivery 2nd week in July.Keeping the 9500 to put in wife’s car,I think the MAX will do great in a town with only 30 MPH and the Police have more radar units per sq. mile than anyone in TX . Thanks for your guidance over the many years. Will rate the unit the first week of use and compare to the 9500. I am sure the rating will match yours.
    Ted

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 3 positive
  17. Don

    Hello Roy,
    I drive about 55 to 60 thousand miles a year in the state of California. My ford F350 has 585,500 miles on it and I see a lot of CHP unit set up Now they are setting at the bottom of down hill slopes, on the freeways, where you would naturally pick up speed. Could you tell me which radar guns the CHP is using in CA. I would also like to know if this new passport plus is as good as the Redline or better? My son has the Bell version of the redling and it has save him several times. By the way I am a former U.S.Army Ranger and my son has just completed his 4th week of the Ranger Assessment Program. One proud father DOn

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 2 positive
    • CHP uses Ka radar and also laser. The Escort Passport Max which should be shipping soon, has better range and filtering then the Redline. And my congrats to you sir and I thank your son for his service to our country.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      Feedback: 3 positive
  18. Avli
    Radar Roys Rating
    Sensitivity
    Filtering Not Rated
    Price
    GPS Capabilities
    Photo Radar Effectiveness

    Hi Roy,
    I got my 9500ix 2 months ago, and now I just saw that Escort came out with the Max version. is the max version better than the 9500ix?
    Thanks!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 2 positive
  19. Will it be possible to upgrade the max to have radar protection against police. If so when is it likely. Are we going to have obsolete max units, replaced with max 2.????

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 2 positive, 1 negative
    • There is a USB port right on the side of the computer. You log into the Radartools program and download

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      Feedback: 2 positive
    • david campbell

      My impression is that if a cop knows you have radar detector he will give you a ticket. Stealth is important!

      The max doesn’t have radar protection against police?????

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      • Unless you’re in VA or in other areas where radar detectors are illegal, police do not have the Spectre, they are too damn expensive

        Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

        Feedback: 1 positive
  20. I hope Escort is smart enough to avoid forcing obsolence. They also have made it necessary to have unique super cups for redline and max. They are NOT compatible? DOUBLE PURCHASES ONE FOR EACH DETECTOR. That is great for forcing Redline and Max owners to buy one for each detector! Why?

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 2 positive
  21. I meant having stealth added to a max by usb at home

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 3 positive
    • The detector is not stealth and will never be stealth to the Spectre. If you need stealth select the Redline or STi

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      Feedback: 2 positive
  22. Roland

    Hey Radar Roy, the escort 9500ix should be mounted low on the dash or windshield right? what about the max? tell em Roy, people argue that radar is radar and high on windsheild is the way to go.. rather listen to you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 1 negative
  23. Ram

    Its a pity that the company cannot even guestimate delivery time AFTER taking the money. In May they said in June on a first come first basis, In july they will not even commit to a date. If it is first come first basis, the least they can do is to give you a number tell they are currently serving x. At least I will know on a weekly basis how the line is moving. Truly dissapionted with their customer service.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 2 positive
  24. Roy, There seems to be something deeper than just the numbers of orders. I’ve been on order for a month and no word on delivery. Did they introduce it far too soon and are they now beta testing and changing the max to make it right for delivery? Seems they bit off more than they can chew. Hope mine is not a test unit when and if it comes.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 3 positive
    • A few folks have been joking of having photos taken and placed on milk cartons. The response did overwhelm them and production couldn’t keep up. Then as the units were shipped from Canada to the US distribution office another unexpected snag with customs. I know it sounds crazy and the folks over at Escort are deeply sorry, but they are doing the best they can.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      Feedback: 2 positive
      • Ted

        Roy I ordered the Max mid June I was told they would be shipping mine about the last week in July, they will bill my CC when they ship . Escort does not take the money till it ships. The hard part is waiting! It will be here when it gets here.
        Thanks Roy for all you do. Ted

        Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  25. I’ve had a 9500ix and just updated it. I have always felt that it was stealth protected. After some recient reviews I’m not sure. Is it the same as the Max, no stealth blocking?

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  26. ORDERED A mAX 6/8/13. 6/22/13 RECEIVED A TRACKING NO. FROM ESCORT ADVISING THAT MY UNIT HAS BEEN SHIPPED. MY ACCOUNT WAS CHARGED 7/20/13. i TRIED TO CHECK WHERE IT WAS BY THE TRACKING NO. AND WAS TOLD BY UPS THAT THEY DID NOT HAVE THE UNIT YET. IF I WAS CHARGED ON THE 20TH AND I HAVE A TRACKING NO., WHY CAN’T UPS FIND IT IN THEIR SYSTEM? MORE THAN 24 HRS HAVE PASSED AND UPS SHOULD KNOW WHERE MY UNIT IS BY NOW. SURE HAVING A LOT OF TROUBLE WITH MY ORDERS WITH ESCORT! WARN YOUR READERS.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 1 positive
  27. I GOOFED , THE DATE I RECEIVED THE TRACKING NO. WAS 7/22/13 SORRY NOT 6/22/13

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  28. Guess What!!!!!! They finally found my detector !!!! they say it will be delivered 7/25/13. How about that! I won’t believe it till its in my hands. What a mess. If true it will have only taken 47 days after my order date of 6/8/13. Happened right after my comment to you yesterday. Interesting.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  29. I finally received my Max. Using it i”ve noticed two features that bother me. When I put the display in the brightest setting, it is still very dim on a sunny day. Also on automute the sound drops totally off. The manual says it will reduce more than 50%. It does more than that. I don’t know if I have an early unit that needs adjusting and if so can it be done through the net? Can you give me your thoughts? Thanks

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 1 positive
  30. Tom Smith

    When will Radarbusters have the Max in stock?

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 1 negative
  31. What is the difference between version 1.2 and the update version 1.3 on the Max? Thanks for your imput.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    • not sure, I’ll see if I can find out but it will be a couple weeks as I’m on the road on vacation up in Sturgis

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      Feedback: 1 negative
  32. Erik
    Radar Roys Rating
    Sensitivity Not Rated Filtering Not Rated
    Price Not Rated GPS Capabilities Not Rated Photo Radar Effectiveness Not Rated

    In the beginning of your review for the “Passport Max” you say that the “Passport 9500ix” had to sacrifice on the range due to GPS capabilities but on your “Passport 9500ix” review you say that the “Passport 9500ix” has a long range. I set up my mind to buy the 9500ix but now I’m considering to get Max. The only problem is that Max doesn’t have the stealth feature. My question is: At what range does “9500ix” can detect a radar and is New York considered a state where radars are elligal?
    I’m not a crazy driver but going 50mph on Highway is slow. I rather take it up to 65pmh.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 1 positive
  33. Admin

    Erik, my name is Stephen (aka Magestic) I am Roy’s admin for radardetector.org & radardetector.net. Normally I just forward all the questions to Roy, so he can answer them personally. However he is currently out of town & since I have owned both the 9500ix & the Max, I can help you out here.

    The 9500ix has great range, but as Roy stated its range was shortened due to the inclusion of GPS location filtering technology. However the 9500ix is still a great detector & considered to be among the best available. I loved mine when I had it.

    The Max doesn’t have stealth for the same reason the 9500ix doesn’t, the GPS features. The reason is, in order for a detector to be stealth it has to be completely contained with no openings of any kind. All detectors emit signals, it’s how they work. In order for a detector to utilize any GPS features, it has to be able to “see” the sky or it can’t pick up the satellites. The opening or “window” that allows the GPS signals in, is also letting emissions out & that’s how police officers are able to detect them. That’s also the reason none of the stealth detectors have any GPS features.

    The Max is a dramatically powerful upgrade to the 9500ix. It takes the insanely long range detection of the RedLine, the GPS features of the 9500ix & with Escort Live! the smartphone integration of the SmartRadar. The detection range of the Max is approximately 9-14 miles from the officer’s radar gun. Police radar has a capture range of roughly 1/4 to 1/2 of a mile at best, so the Max will pick it up WAY before the officer ever sees you. If you were considering a 9500ix, you really should go with the Max, it’s vastly superior to any other detectors in it’s class.

    To answer your question about radar detectors being legal in NY, they are perfectly legal to use in NY. There are only 2 places in the USA where detectors are illegal & that is the state of Virginia & Washington, D.C. so unless you live or work in either of those 2 places, stealth is not important at all.

    I hope that answers your questions, but if not please feel free to post again, we are all more than happy to help anyway we can.

    Take care!

    Stephen

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 4 positive, 1 negative
    • Erik

      Thanks Stephen.
      Another question. This is a piece of description of the “Escort 9500ix” from “Crutchfield” website. —->”VG-2 Protection: This unit uses SmartSheild VG2 immunity to make it invisible to radar detector detectors”
      What does that mean?

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    • Admin

      VG2 is an older technology law enforcement used to detect radar detectors. All mainstream detectors are VG2 immune, mainly because it’s not hardly used anymore. Let me ask you this, why are you so concerned about detector invisibility? It truly only benefits you in Virginia & Washington, D.C. other than that law enforcement is not going to buy a radar detector detector if they can’t do anything with it. Other than Virginia & Washington, D.C. detectors are 100% legal to use.

      The Max is the 9500ix on steroids & completely rebuilt from the ground up. If you are going to get a 9500ix you should seriously consider the Max.

      Please let me know if I can be of any further assistance. :-) always happy to help!

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      Feedback: 4 positive
      • Andrew

        Hello Roy and Admin, It’s a great answer that I was searching for… I lived in CA. I want to buy the detector and considering “MAX” but little disappoint when it does NOT have stealth feature. I know it’s legal to have radar detector in CA… However, do you think that even it’s legal, the law enforcement know that you have the detector and will try to give you a “hard-time”? Do you know how much does it cost for the “Radar Detector” Detector? I was wondering if it’s not expensive… they may equip one in the “law enforcement” vehicle…. How many percentages that you sure that they are not going to equip one? Thank you very much for your time and efforts…

        Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

        • As it is legal there only the commercial vehicle inspectors would have the equipment to detect if you have a detector. And as far as giving you a hard time, some of my best clients are cops . The Spectre I have cost me around $500 and are only sold to law enforcement agencies.

          Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

          Feedback: 1 positive, 1 negative

      • captain hal

        radar detector not legal in comerical truck cab or bus in any state

        Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

        Feedback: 1 positive
    • david campbell

      Aren’t cops much more likely to give a ticket if he knows you have a detector???

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  34. Have a great trip. Just a quicky question. What is the software version on your Max by holding down the mute key an the mrk keys while torning on the detector?

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  35. Erik

    Just curious. What can you say about K40 RL360?

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  36. Ted
    Radar Roys Rating
    Sensitivity
    Filtering
    Price
    GPS Capabilities
    Photo Radar Effectiveness Not Rated

    Roy received the Max three weeks ago , WOW , the new time I have before the Bear shows up is wonderful I have the 9500 and it now is in the wife’s car. The Bears are now set back on their heels one more time. Went on a short trip last week and it is great on the highway as well . Boy the night reflection up to the wind screen is cool less moving your head to see what is going on. Just have to set the unit a bit lower on the windshield. The ability to set speed controls is super . All promised is delivered and more ! The Tech support can’t be beat! I have not been around red light cams yet , but with LIVE WORKING AS WELL IT’S ALL THERE as well. Roy thanks for all you do for us.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 1 positive
  37. Andrew

    Hello Mr.Roy and Admin,

    I have couple questions that help me decide which radar detector I am going to get…I am kinda undecided between “MAX” and “Redline”… (I watched a lot of your advice on youtube for these 2 products..that’s why I am undecided…)

    1) The primary differences between “MAX” and “Redline” are that “MAX” detects the “Red Light Camara” and filter false signals because “MAX” has GPS… is that correct?

    2) “Photo Radar”, “Speed Camera”, “Speed Trap”, etc. are detected by BOTH “MAX” and “Redline”…. is that correct? (If “MAX” ONLY has the “Red Light Camera” feature over the “Redline”, I will prefer to get the “Redline” because I don’t “cross Red lights”… and I like the “stealth” feature over the “Red light Camera” feature. Otherwise, if “Redline” also CANNOT detect some of the “Photo Radar” or “Speed Camera” but “MAX” will, then I will go with “MAX”. My main concern is just speed…and NOT Red Light…) That’s why I want your advice to help me making the decision…

    3) I heard that there are some “Photo Radar” builds under the pavements or under the roads that measure from the start-point and end-point to trigger the camera which are not used by radar or laser… is that true? Are these existed in CA? Will “MAX” or “Redline” detects these kind of “Photo Radar” if existed?

    4) Base on my concerns, which one do you think I should get?

    Thank you very much for your time and answers… Hope to hear from you soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 1 positive
    • The Redline cannot warn you of Redlight or photo radar cameras UNLESS you also have Escort Live installed (mobile phone application)

      3: Yes most photo radar and redlight cameras opperate this way, the Max has these locations stored in memory so it will alert

      So if you want to have redlight and photo radar the choice is the Max unless you get the Redline with the Escort Live

      Hope this helps, if not let me know

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      • Andrew

        Hello Mr. Roy

        First thank you so much for your fast reply…

        1) I have this question regardless about the “Redline” and “Escort Live” combination. If I use the “Redline” and “Escort Live” combination together, will this combination defeat the “Stealth” feature of “Redline” because “Escort Live” uses GPS also like the “MAX”?

        2) Do you think “MAX” is now better than “Escort 9500ix”?

        Thank you very much for your time and advice…

        Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

        • No, the Max will still be stealth, Live gets it’s information from your cell phone. It’s not that one is better than the other, all depends on what you’re needs are. The Max has longer range for highway driving but not everyone is a road warrior

          Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  38. Erik

    Hi. Just got my passport Max. Not sure how to use the smart cord that came with it. The button on the smart cord that locks out signals. Last night I pulled up to a local CVS pharmacy that has auto doors and immediate my radar was giving me a K band signal. I pressed the lockout button and it silenced the signal (made it gray). Does it completely locks out K band or just for that particular CVS pharmacy?

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 1 positive
  39. Justin Doskocil

    Roy,

    I read all I can till I just can’t find that thing I am looking for. I Have the Redline and the X50. Redline is always the seeker here in Alabama. Just like the song “over the river and through the woods to grandmother’s house we go”. Of course the song leaves out all the hills. X50 is ok and the Redline is crazy over the hills, curves and trees to get that KA at 3’000 feet or better, at the highest density. The highway is even better, on average a mile to 3/4 mile warning. I have picked up AL HP and Kansas HP up to 2 miles away with short blips. To the point, Redline, Plenty of warning always, no tickets and never been surprised. How much more off the hinge, insane, ridiculous and KraZy more range can there be to this new MAX???? I still have my original x Cincinnati Microwave detector (1986), in the box stored away. When K and KA came out I could not find a good enough detector to enjoy the my old road hobby. When I got the Redline I fell back in love with an old hobby cross country because it is all possible again. The question is in there… What Say YOU?

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  40. Joe

    The previous top dog was the Bell StiR Plus. How does the Passport Max stack up against it?

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  41. Doug

    Hey Roy, keep up the good work! Couple questions for you – I currently own a 9500ix and love it! Thinking of getting a MAX for a second vehicle. Can I connect the MAX to my computer using the same escort tools software as the 9500ix? And can I use my existing database subscription for both the 9500ix and the MAX? Thanks.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  42. Michale

    I live in California and just purchased the Max. In doing some research, Cali and Minnesota do not allow windshield mounting. The Max is not supported by the bean bag mounting system nor the Blendtech mirror mount. I do not like the thought of using velcro on the Max to secure it to the dashboard. Any other thoughts? Thanks.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  43. Admin

    Michael,

    My name is Stephen & I’m Roy’s site admin. I try to answer whatever I can and/or go ask Roy if I can’t.

    Honestly your question is a very good one & one I’m sure other Max owner’s may have. Although I do not have an answer for you at this time, I have reached out to our friends at Escort, to see what their advisement may be.

    As soon as I get response, I’ll post it here.

    Thank you very much for not only taking the time to ask a great question, but for being a part of Roy’s family of community members!

    -Stephen

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 1 positive
  44. Admin

    Michael,

    After consulting our friends at Escort, here is what they advise:

    “We will be introducing a number of mounts soon.  Currently, though, the Sticky Cup is the only one available for the PASSPORT Max.  We will have the BlendMount versions as soon as they are available from the manufacturer and we have a few other options in the pipeline that I think will be well received.

    Until then, we do offer the following:

    https://www.escortradar.com/store/platform-mount-with-disc-pad.html and https://www.escortradar.com/store/platform-mount-with-beanbag.html as optional dash mounts. 

    Velcro is also an option, but not for everyone.”

    I hope that helps you out in the interim.

    Please let us know if you have any other questions, concerns and/or comment. We are always happy to hear from the members of our community!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  45. Admin

    Michael,

    After consulting our friends at Escort, here is what they advise:

    “We will be introducing a number of mounts soon.  Currently, though, the Sticky Cup is the only one available for the PASSPORT Max.  We will have the BlendMount versions as soon as they are available from the manufacturer and we have a few other options in the pipeline that I think will be well received.

    Until then, we do offer the following:

    https://www.escortradar.com/store/platform-mount-with-disc-pad.html and https://www.escortradar.com/store/platform-mount-with-beanbag.html as optional dash mounts. 

    Velcro is also an option, but not for everyone.”

    I hope that helps you out in the interim.

    Please let us know if you have any other questions, concerns and/or comments. We are always happy to hear from the members of our community!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  46. Kevin

    Hey Roy, I have a sound system in my car, and I currently have the 8500 x50 (classic grey) and regular suction cup mount, not the stickycup. When I’m driving to a song with particularly strong bass, it makes the detector rattle like crazy, sounds like trunk rattle but up front and it takes a lot less bass to make it shake. Will this still happen with the stickycup? I was considering purchasing the sticky cup if that will fix the problem. Also, if it doesn’t fix the rattle for my current detector, will it for the max?

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  47. Rusty

    Since the H.A.R.D. transmitter & reciever system is compatible with the 9500ix, will it work with the MAX?

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  48. Joe E

    Hey Roy,
    So I just recently purchased the Passport Max since its the best radar you’ve ever reviewed. After just one day of using the detector I am a little concerned. I drove past a parked CHP officer that was posted on the side of the freeway probably using radar/laser but my Escort didn’t make a sound at any point before I passed the CHP or after, it was completely silent. I thought maybe it was a fluke, but 2 hours later I drove past another parked CHP (parked on the center divider) and again there was no warning no beep no nothing from my detector? I drove past a sheriff and same result! Any advice or idea as to why this is happening would be much appreciated because I am losing confidence in this detector! As an added note, the detector was mounted correctly on the windshield in the center in the area where you post your detectors Roy. I hope to hear back from you…thank you Roy!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 1 positive, 1 negative
    • Joe E

      Roy, thank you so very much for the quick response! I was just a little concerned because I read some user reviews that stated that their passport max has a tendency to “fall asleep” and not warn of law enforcement. Buy your link gave me piece of mind…thank you again!

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  49. Chet K

    HEY ROY,
    Great website, your an awesome resource! I purchased my Bel STi Magnum thru you and love it! Im considering a second unit, specifically the new Escort Max, although I do not live in state where radar is illegal (Florida), I’ve heard that police have radar detector detectors even in states where radar is legal. I heard , albeit may not be true, that its better to have a stealth device so the cops do not know you have radar, making them less likely to instant on you or bother with you if they don’t know you have a detector. Is this wives tales or some truth to this?

    Thanks again man, you rock!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 1 positive
    • Admin

      Chet K,

      My name is Stephen & I’m Roy’s administrator for radardetector.org & radardetector.net. I try too answer questions whenever possible as Roy is always on the go, hunting down new products & discounts for his family of community members.

      I’d like to share with you, not only what I know, but from my own experiences.

      To answer your question regarding, Law Enforcement using radar detector detectors in areas where detectors are perfectly legal, the short answer is yes they do. However, this is no where near as widespread as people have been lead too believe.

      With ever shrinking budgets, they just simply do not have they money too buy unnecessary things. Also it doesn’t matter if they do or do not, as there is nothing they can do about it, except give you grief.

      I have actually been pulled over by a state trooper & he told me the reason he stopped me was because he wanted me too know, that he knew I had a radar detector. He also told me people with detectors are nothing more than professional speeders. Now since I live in a state that detectors are perfectly legal, that’s all he could do. I took the opportunity too remind him that, my owning a radar detector may make me a professional speeder, but at least I’m acting professionally where he is not. He got pissed, but there was nothing he could do about it

      I wouldn’t recommend doing that though, I just happened too be in a bad mood that day. You should ALWAYS be polite & respectful too Law Enforcement. Regardless if you think or know they are wrong, you must keep something in mind. Law Enforcement officers are literally putting their lives on the line every time the walk up too a car. They have no idea who is behind the wheel or what your intentions are. Roy is a retired 21 year Lt. of law enforcement, he can tell you stories of fellow officers/friends that have been shot over a simple traffic stop. So being a jerk won’t help you any.

      Now I personally have the Passport Max & love it! However the Max is not stealth, but with a detection range between 9-14 miles it really doesn’t need too be. It’s performance is very impressive.

      I hope that answers your question(s), but if not please feel free to leave another post & I’ll make sure Roy sees it.

      Thank you very much for your post & for being a part of the community!

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      Feedback: 2 positive
  50. Chet K

    Thanks Stephen,
    That helps , I just have to decide whats more important. The max looks like a great unit, but I really like the stealth feature. I already have the one stealth unit so maybe the max is OK in my second vehicle.

    Thanks again

    Chet

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  51. Jason m

    Roy,
    It appears your review of the max’s range is not as good as you report. A lot of users report redline much better…any thoughts? Do you still praise this rd as u did during your review? Thanks

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  52. BILL

    ARE THEY EVER GOING TO MAKE THE MAX UNDETECTABLE?IT WOULD BE WORTH THE MONEY. I DRIVE IN VA.
    THANKS
    BILL

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    • Admin

      Bill,

      First thank you for taking the time too ask a very valid question.

      There are no plans to make the Max stealth & here’s why. In order to be stealth, the detector has too be completely contained so that zero emissions come out of it. This is the reason there is not any GPS features on the RedLine. In order for the GPS to work, it has too have a “Window” to see the satellites. That “Window” also allows emissions, created by the circuitry in the detector, to escape. It’s these emissions that allow the detectors too be picked up by RDDs (Radar Detector Detectors). Although I highly recommend the Max to everyone (I own one & love it), you would be better served too stick with the RedLine.

      I hope that answers your question(s), but if not please feel free too post & I’ll make sure Roy reads it & responds.

      Thank you very much for being a part of our family of community members!

      -Stephen
      Admin radardetector.org & radardetector.net

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  53. nick
    Radar Roys Rating
    Sensitivity
    Filtering
    Price
    GPS Capabilities
    Photo Radar Effectiveness

    Got the redline because I just could not pay this price for something that’s far from perfect, also stealth is a biggie for me. For the longest time I could not figure out why escort products cost as much as a new Ipad a device far more superior than a gps radar sniffer. Then I saw all the “design in USA and manufactured in Canada” stickers and I was like ohhhhhhhhh there is no way escort will survive the future of Korean and Chinese designers and manufactures with that type of business model. Nothing personal against Canada but that is a heavily regulated country with generous benefits to its citizens. I saw radar roy mocking some knock off detectors made from a Korean company but be careful my friend confucius say “same thing make you laugh make you cry.”

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  54. Vern

    Would appreciate knowing how I can tell if my Max Ser.58000486 is working in detecting laser. I’ve put quite a few miles on it and not one laser hit. Being one of the first 1000 i’m wondering if its out of whack. Can I test it someway without sending it back to be worked on?

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    Feedback: 1 positive
  55. Erlkoenig

    On my 2013 X5 diesel I have flat areas on my dash. I’m thinking about using Velcro to mount the Passport Max I just purchased from you last night. Should I mount the Max close to the windshield or can I move it back closer to the passenger for better visibility and access to buttons on the detector? I will post a full review at a later date.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  56. Rob
    Radar Roys Rating
    Sensitivity
    Filtering
    Price
    GPS Capabilities
    Photo Radar Effectiveness

    First thing, your recommendation for the LI quad on my F250 has saved me countless times around Austin and Houston. Now the DPS is using laser on I 10 between San Antonio and Houston. Thanks again.

    Now as far as the Max, we’ll the quality of the construction of the unit is less than what I would expect from Escort. The rear cover over the antennas has fallen off multiple time. The range as far as I can tell is very good. Only problem is, I can’t hear it when it alerts(has the volume is up all the way). The Escort Live module is mounted lower so I can’t see the red light blinking unless I am looking directly at it.

    Maybe Escort needs to find a different tone that is heard over road noise. My 9500ix was much better as far as alerting me to a radar hit by its tones.

    Keep up the great work.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Leave A Comment...

Click stars below to rate.
Radar Roys Rating
Sensitivity
Filtering
Price
GPS Capabilities
Photo Radar Effectiveness